Social Security Administration to reinstate Reconsideration in all states.

  • By:Deborah Mitchell
  • 0 Comment

  1. What is the Reconsideration process?

A Request for Reconsideration is the first step to appealing an initial application denial. This request asks that the Administration take another look at your medical treatment records, work history and activities of daily living and reconsider their determination.

  1. Why is the Administration reinstating the Reconsideration process in Alabama?

In 2002 the Social Security Administration launched a prototype initiative in ten states, including Alabama, that allowed claimants to “skip” the reconsideration stage and request a hearing before an Administrative Law Judge after receiving a denial on their initial application. In 2018, the Administration ended this prototype and declared that all ten states involved in the program would again require that claimants file a Request for Reconsideration when appealing an initial claim denial.

  1. What does the reinstatement of the Reconsideration process mean for Alabamians?

The Administration reinstated the Reconsideration process in each state on a rolling basis beginning January 1, 2019. Claimants residing in Alabama can expect to see these changes effective October 1, 2019. If you are a resident of Alabama and are considering filing for Social Security Disability or Supplemental Security Income, or both, you may want to consider filing your initial application for benefits prior to October 1, 2019.

Posted in: Uncategorized


No Responses to “Social Security Administration to reinstate Reconsideration in all states.”

No comments yet.
Deborah Grossman Mitchell